September 1996

In This Issue:


The U.S. House of Representatives Agriculture Subcommittee on General Farm Commodities heard positive comments on the national soybean checkoff in an official review of the producer-run program on July 31, 1996. Testimony came from U.S. Department of Agriculture-Agricultural Marketing Service and state checkoff representatives; soybean producers; as well as United Soybean Board and American Soybean Association producer-leaders.

Both congressmen Tom Ewing (R-Ill.) and Ray LaHood (R-Ill.), who initiated the hearings, gave opening remarks indicating that they are in favor of the national checkoff and want to work together with producers to improve the program. The representatives stated their concerns lay with certain mechanics of the program. Subcommittee member congressman Tom Latham (R-Iowa) said he supported the checkoff and the excellent results obtained from checkoff dollars.

According to Jerry Slocum, who spoke as USB chairman and as a producer from Coldwater, Ms., the hearing continued with statements-both verbal and written-from producers in nearly 14 soybean-growing states favoring the checkoff's activities and results.

"One question that has been asked has been about checkoff dollars being used for lobbying," said Slocum about the national checkoff testimony. "We assured them lobbying is not permitted with USB funds."

Slocum added that overall, USB views the hearing as a success for all U.S. soybean producers. "There's always more we can do to positively impact profits and to develop new domestic and international markets. But, we're proud of what the national soybean checkoff has accomplished to date through USB activities-and that was expressed in the hearing," he said.


Both the United Soybean Board and the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board have numerous publications available for the information and use of those involved in the industry. Below is a listing of those materials and a brief description of each. Some quantities are limited and are available on a first come, first served basis. They can be ordered by calling 501-228-1265 or writing:

Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board
P.O. Box 31
Lttle Rock, AR 72203


The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board held their summer meeting August 7, 1996 in Dumas. The meeting location allowed board members to participate in field day activities of the Southeast Branch Experiment Station near Rowher the following day to view checkoff funded research projects located at the station.

During the meeting, the board voted to allocate up to $3,000 to co-sponsor production of a 15-17 minute video about Arkansas agriculture and its importance to the economy of the state. The video, which is being co-sponsored by several agricultural organizations in the state, will be aimed at primarily non-farm audiences to help them develop a better understanding about the state's largest industry. The board voted to support the University of Arkansas Variety Testing Program and to encourage seed companies to enter all varieties they intend to market in Arkansas in the variety testing program. Arkansas members of the United Soybean Board reported on the recent meeting of that board and reviewed funding decisions made during that meeting. The annual election of officers was conducted and Mr. Roger Pohlner was elected chairman, Mr. Art Simpson, vice-chairman, and Mr. David Walt, secretary-treasurer. Following adjournment of the business session, all three research committees met with leaders of checkoff funded research projects to hear updates on the status of those projects.


Mr. Dick Howard, a soybean producer from Crittenden County, has recently been appointed to the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board. Mr. Howard, who was nominated by the Arkansas Soybean Association, replaces Mr. Joe Kirksey of Mulberry, who had served on the board since 1982. Mr. Howard was welcomed to the board during the August 7 meeting at which time the board extended sincere appreciation to Mr. Kirksey for his many years of service to the industry during his service on the board.

1996 - 97 Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board members are:

Roger Pohlner, Weiner, Chairman
Art Simpson, Marked Tree, Vice-chairman
David Walt, Dumas, Secretary-treasurer
Jerry Ford, Lake Village*
Richard Howard, Clarkedale
Paul McCutchen, Parkin*
Bryan Moery, Wynne*
Mary Ratcliffe, Sweet Home
Stanley Reed, Marianna

* Designates representatives on the United Soybean Board


The following is an unaudited financial report for the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1996.
  Gross  Collections			$3,070,457
  Begining Fund Balance		   	   206,446
  Excess Refunds Escrowed	    	     5,143
	TOTAL AVAILABLE FUNDS           $3,282,046
  Refunds Escrowed		        $   32,652
  Transfers to other QSSB's	            65,503
  United Soybean Board	                 1,463,897
  Revenue and Treasury		            91,134
  Total Deductions    	 	        $1,653,186
	NET AVAILABLE FUNDS	        $1,628,860
  Research/Extension	  	        $1,518,785
  Producer Communication                    30,779
  Administration		            12,842
	TOTAL EXPENDITURES  	        $1,562,406
	TOTAL AVAILABLE REVENUE            $66,454


December 11, 1996 - Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board meeting, Brinkley
December 12, 1996 - Arkansas Soybean Research Conference, Brinkley
December 13 - 17, 1996 - United Soybean Board meeting, St. Louis

[ Back to Table of Contents ]

For additional information about any board-related activity contact:

Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board
ATTN: Ewell Welch
P.O. Box 31
Little Rock, AR 72203-0031

Phone: 501-228-1265.

Return to Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board Home Page